Welcome to Maryland
Here are some Traffic Safety Laws we'd like you to know.
Driving Safely in Maryland
We hope your stay in, or trip through, our state is pleasant and safe. Our highways are among the finest, and safest, in the nation. You can help us preserve our outstanding highway safety record and better insure your own safety by:
- Staying alert and giving driving your full attention.
- Showing courtesy to other drivers, pedestrians and cyclists
- Complying with our traffic laws and heeding all traffic signs, signals and markings
- Avoiding driving aggressively
Maryland has adopted a number of important traffic safety laws to ensure the safety of our citizens and visitors:
- Every child under 8 years old must be secured in a U.S. DOT approved child safety seat unless the child is 4 feet, 9 inches or taller, or weighs more than 65 pounds. Children and young people up to 16 years of age must be secured in seat belts or child safety seats, regardless of their seating positions. It is strongly recommended that all children ride secured in the rear seat. Drivers and front seat passengers, regardless of their ages, are required to wear seat belts. It is strongly recommended that all occupants wear seat belts.
- Motorcycle operators and passengers are required to wear U.S. DOT approved helmets. Operators must wear eye protection as well.
Maryland law strictly forbids driving while impaired by alcohol or other drugs. The alcohol concentration for DUI is set at .07, one of the lowest in the nation. Our laws for impaired driving are strictly enforced and our penalties are severe.
- The minimum lawful drinking age is 21 years.
- Vehicles must stop for school buses when the buses' red flashers are on (except when the buses are on the opposite side of a highway divided by a barrier or median strip).
- After stopping and yielding to pedestrians and other vehicles, a right turn or left turn from a one-way street to another one-way street, may be made on a red signal, except where prohibited by a sign.